Jesus Wears TOMS

toms.com

Have you ever thought about what it would be like to NOT own a pair of shoes? In my last post I wrote about how America is rich, and how owning a car makes you richer than 98% of people world-wide. I’ve seen some poverty in my own state in Kentucky, but it didn’t compare to some of the areas I saw in Bogota, Colombia last summer. Among the mountains were scattered, not run-down mobile homes and trailers, but shacks made out of scraps of metal, and bits of cardboard, it reminded me of the hoovervilles in the 1930s Great Depression. I returned for Colombia about the same time a friend of mine returned from a week in Haiti. We compared stories and pictures, and I was amazed, that many of the poorest people in Kentucky would have something to give to the poor in Colombia, and the Colombians, (who were beautiful people and often invited us into their small homes) would have had something to give to the Haitians.

At home in Kentucky, I sometimes see people who wear old, dirty, clothes, their hands are black with the hard labor they’ve been doing, and there’s integrity there, in Colombia I saw children who should have been wearing coats and sweaters, dressed in thin fabrics, obviously too small for them, but the pictures I saw from Haiti, there was hardly a child with a pair of shoes, and some of the children had no clothes at all. I’ve read about places in Haiti, like Shada, and villages in Africa, that are literally places more like garbage dumps than towns.

Can you imagine, what it would be like to live in that kind of poverty? Maybe you can, maybe you’ve been there, but that’s not a hardship I’ve ever experienced. Rising out of poverty is a very difficult thing to do, even in the United States. It’s hard to get a job when you have nothing, because first impressions really make a difference. I heard about an organization that was helping homeless men get jobs by giving them suits to wear and training them on what to say in interviews, job applications, and the like.

TOMS shoes does something similar with the “One-for-One” movement. For every pair of shoes you buy, they provide a pair for a child in need. It doesn’t sound like a huge deal, but often a child who doesn’t own shoes cannot go to school. Shoes can make the difference between breaking a cycle of poverty in a child’s life. They also protect the child against disease, infection, and parasites.

I’ve also thought that a new pair of shoes gave everyone’s step an extra boost of confidence, and I think in the case of these children, having a pair of shoes really does give them more confidence.

I think if Jesus had walked the earth today instead of 2 thousand years ago, he would have been wearing TOMS, and not sandals.

I wear my TOMS to school, to parties, and even for dance performances, and I think you should wear TOMS too. And the best part is, you’re wearing the same style of shoe as 1,000,000 children that TOMS has given shoes to.

Shoes for change. Shoes for tomorrow. TOMS

Watch a video about TOMS: http://www.toms.com/our-movement/movement-one-for-one

Leave a Reply

