1 Corinthians 10:23 Applied: Music.

A lot of my friends are music junkies. I… am not really all that big of a music junkie. I sing, but I don’t play an instrument and when I did I played violin, and I wasn’t very good at all. Maybe being a geek of all things sound would change my opinions of music, as I’ve been told I’m not into anything high-quality. Though I think music tastes differ quite a lot.

Most of the time, I don’t know a lot of the bands or songs people are talking about. This is half due to my lack of musical intrigue, and half due to the fact that I rarely listen to the secular radio stations.

I used to think that music had no affect on me. I have an odd love for Michael Jackson music, all things disco, and an occasional Lady Gaga song. In their own way they are musical geniuses. It’s unique, it’s fun, you can party to the beat. I listen to secular radio or music when I get tired of the songs that play on the Christian radio. Let’s face it, there’s a lot more secular music than Christian, and I listen to the radio when I drive A LOT.

Not all songs that fail to mention Jesus or God or the Bible or hymns are evil. Don’t think I’m about to say that. I know some really conservative people would say that. Some of them think all music is from the devil. Or like Fez’s host family on That ’70s Show, they say that rap/disco/anything with a beat played backwards tells you to kill your parents, or worship the devil. But lyrics really do matter quite a lot. There’s a lot of songs I’ve listened to quite a few times and then realized they were saying some pretty horrible things. Most of Lady Gaga’s songs are fairly disturbing and I have to remind myself not to listen to them. A lot of pop music is extremely catchy. So when the Christian music seems to get all-too repetetive, I have to remind myself what I told a friend one day, I would rather have songs stuck in my head about Jesus, than about how badly drunk I am.

Now, there’s a lot of secular music out there that isn’t really bad… but it’s not really good either. Songs have about 3-5 minutes to convey to you any message that they want, that will stay with you for hours given the right opportunity. I find that when I choose to listen to Christian music and Christian radio I’m more focused. It’s not that non-Christian music will lead you down the wrong path and you’ll start partying and drinking your guts out and end up in rehab, it’s that listening to Christian music is helping you down  the right path. As the Apostle Paul writes:

“I have the right to do anything,” you say—but not everything is beneficial. “I have the right to do anything”—but not everything is constructive. — 1 Corinthians 10:23

Christian music will most likely fill your head with songs of truth, of joy, and of Christ, while non-Christian music will just fill your head. There was a challenge for K-Love, I believe, to listen to only Christian music for 1 month, to see how it changed your life. If you’re not someone who listens to Christian radio, I challenge you to try it. It really does change your focus from a blurry outlook on life, to a more clear eye on Christ.

Leave a Reply

