1 Corinthians 10:23 Applied– Jesus Film vs. That ’70s Show.

I’m a workahaulic in the sense that I have this ridiculous ability to run myself so far into the ground that I can’t stop running so I dig myself a deep trench. In this trench is where I finally collapse into an insane pit of absolute mindlessness and brain frying possibilities. I first found this pit for it’s true nature over Spring Break. (I’ll go into all the reasons I shouldn’t be a workahaulic on a later date)

During the course of Spring Break I discovered my guilty pleasure of “That ’70s Show.” I think I watched 3 seasons in 5 days. I wasn’t really all that concerned about the habit because… it was Spring Break, so who cared? Now, if you’ve never seen That ’70s Show, it’s not something I would recommend. It’s completely immoral, I think it’s hilarious. (When I get into my pit, I find myself wanting to watch mindless TV that has nothing to do with my own life.) That ’70s Show has nothing to do with my own life whatsoever. Is it a good show? No. It’s really not. But was it really hurting anything? I didn’t think so, as long as I didn’t watch quite so much of it after Spring Break.

So spring break ended. I discontinued watching TV, in-fact, my mom disconnected our TV (which has only ever enabled us to watch Netflix or 5 channels). When summer came, though, I remembered that our netflix subscription was still very much in tact. I didn’t want to watch too much TV, just a little. So I would limit myself to about an hour worth of episodes on the nights I would watch TV. And some nights I watched Family Ties or the Cosby Show, or Macgyver. But some nights I wanted to watch That ’70s Show.

Everyone has that thing that is bad for them. I would say that one episode of a show isn’t really a bad thing. It’s not going to ruin you for life. But I got to thinking, that this was a really bad habit for me to have. I found that I had a change in behaivor when I watched the show. Not that I was suddenly an immoral person. But I was unfocused. I had this idea at the back of my head, that I wanted a fun life. I didn’t want to go off and do all the stupid things they did on TV, and deep down I knew I didn’t really want a stupid selfish life filled with worthlessness. Because I knew it was just that, worthless.

I found a copy of the Jesus film in my room, something I’d gotten at a missions convention or meeting. I decided that I would watch that instead of my regular television addiction. So for a week I watched parts of the Jesus Film, some nights I practically guilted myself into watching it, because some nights I would have rather watched something else (as the Jesus film isn’t very well done, and errs on the side of boring in some places and comical in others regarding the way the actor playing Jesus’ hair looks). So I thought to myself do I want to watch something about Jesus or do I want to watch something worthless?

And at first I wasn’t sure I needed to really guilt myself into it, but thinking again, when it really comes down to it, that really is the choice we’re making. Not really watching something Christian vs watching something Immoral… But every choice we make comes down to Jesus’ way or our way. And Jesus is the only way.

I’ve always been a bit of a scattered person, and I struggle to have focus. Watching TV doesn’t help me, I use it to escape, it unfocuses me, and I’m starting to realize that is regardless of the show I’m watching. Paul writes “I have the right to do anything,” you say—but not everything is beneficial. “I have the right to do anything”—but not everything is constructive. – 1 Corinthians 10:23.

Sometimes the things standing between us and God aren’t deliberate sins but hidden things in our lives. What’s in your life that’s making you settle for something less? Maybe you want a fairytale romance, maybe you’re after a big career, maybe, like me sometimes you just wish for “the fun life.” When you’re watching TV or something. Anything can play into these struggles and desires in us. They distract us from Christ.

 1 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, 2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. 3 Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart. — Hebrews 12:1-3.

Let us not sit idly doing nothing which seems like it would not affect us either way,  but we must run in such a way to get the prize! (1 Cor. 9:24) Our choices have a much bigger value than just one night choosing between That ’70s Show or the Jesus Film. Wouldn’t it be better to spend more time pursuing God than just letting time pass?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tiffany
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 20:01:54

    You remembered who you are and you made good choices! Also, your comment about Jesus’ hair was funny.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

